Group members

Current Group Members

PhD students
Paul Morton is a DTP PhD student working on C-H activation and borylation (Started: Oct 2019).
Daniel Ward is an EaSIcat PhD student working with Lubrizol on sustainable chemistry (Started Sep 2021).
Joe Walker is an EaSIcat student working on a collaborative project with Dr Ruaraidh McIntosh on new polymerisation catalysts for greater sustainability (Started Oct 2021).

Previous Group Members

Dr Peter Cleaves worked on multi-dentate phosphinine complexes for small molecule activation (Mar 2017 – Feb 2019). Funded by the Leverhulme Trust. Peter is now a PDRA at the University of Edinburgh.
Dr Marta Rosello-Merino worked on C-H activation using tethered stannylene ligands (Oct 2014 – Oct 2015). Funded by the EPSRC. Marta is now working as part of a large EU grant.

PhD students:
Dr Beth Trodden was a CRITICAT student working on a collaborative project with the Research Centre for Carbon Solutions on the utilisation of CO2 assisted by homogeneous catalysis (Oct 2018 – Dec 2022).
Dr Matthew Andrews was a collaborative CRITICAT student with Dr Ruaraidh McIntosh developing new first row transition metal catalysts for co-polymerisations (Sep 2016 – Aug 2021). Matt is now a PDRA at the University St. Andrews.
Dr Cathryn Shepherd was a joint student with Dr Gareth Lloyd (now at the University of Lincoln) working on supramolecular chemistry. Cathryn is now working for Syngenta.
Dr Kieren Evans worked on NHC ligands for C-H activation (Sep 2016 – Feb 2021). Kieren is now a PDRA at the University of York.
Dr Amanda Benton worked on a collaborative project with Prof. Alan Welch using carboranes as scaffolds for Frustrated Lewis Pairs (Sep 2015 – Feb 2019). Amanda is now working for a charity.
Dr Rob Newland worked on new phosphinine ligands for catalysis (Oct 2014 – Sep 2018). Rob is now working in the chemical industry.

Former Erasmus and visiting students:

Margot Marseglia (May – Aug 2022)
Christian Luz (Mar – May 2019)
Sebastian Brunen (Sep – Oct 2018)
Bettina Boehm (Sep 2017 – Feb 2018)
Simon Rachor (Oct 2016 -Jan 2017)
Tobias Bischoff (Oct 2015 – Jan 2016)
Jan Christmann (Sep – Oct 2015)

Undergraduate project students:

Abigayle Boyce

Faidra Batsaki is now studying for a PhD.
Ben Gourlay

Camillo Aristizabal
Emmeline Durrant is now working in industry.
Robert Westgate

William Walker is now working in industry.
Olivia Raine
Callum Miller is now working in industry.

Cameron Campbell is now a PhD student with Dr Scott Dalgarno (HWU).
Paul Morton is now a PhD student with us.

Mathew Delve
Ben Potrykus then became a student in the U.S.A.
Mark Reeves then went on to study for a Masters at the Uni. of Southampton

Alana Smith, now a PhD student in Durham
Stephen Belford
Paul Ewing now a PhD student in CRITICAT at the University of Edinburgh.
Nina Jeffrey now a PhD student in CRITICAT at the University of St. Andrews.

David Donald was working on funtionalised 3D-printable materials with Dr Filipe Vilela.
Martyn Henry was working on new ligands for polymerisation catalysis. Studied for a PhD at the University of Glasgow.
Sarah McKnight was working on Ru complexes for H-borrowing reactivity in the upgrading of biofuels.

Dylan Bompas (3D-printable materials with Dr Filipe Vilela)
Lisa Patrick (joint project with Prof Stuart Macgregor on understanding our ligands using computational chemistry)

Former summer students:

Abigayle Boyce (RSC funded UG summer student 2022)
Elliot Makin (AWE funded UG summer student 2021)
Calum Sangster (AWE funded UG summer student 2020)
Malcolm Garrow (RSC funded UG Summer student 2019)
Darren Potter (UG summer Student 2018)
Andrew Burton (UG summer Student 2016)
Matthew Andrews (UG summer Student 2015)
Reda Ghezzal (UG summer Student 2014)